Shadow On The Wall – Mike Oldfield

If you don’t know who Mike Oldfield is, stop reading right now, and go back to your toys. Just kidding, but really, you don’t know who Mike Oldfield is, go back to your toys. All right, but you’ve heard at least of Tubular Bells, if not, just pretend you did, and you’ll be alright.
How many real musical geniuses can you count. Maybe Bach, Mozart, and Mike Oldfield. Yeah, he’s right there with the gods. Don’t worry, he’s still alive, he just turned 60, and he can still play more than 20 instruments by himself, like he did, back in 1972, when he recorded Tubular Bells.
The song I am posting today is one of my favorite, even though is not part of Tubular Bells. It appeared on the 1983 album Crisis.
The album features the wildly popular Moonlight Shadow sang by Maggie Reilly.
Shadow On The Wall is a powerful song, and the voice of Roger Chapman makes it stand out. Listen and enjoy.
As a bit of trivia, the album Tubular Bells was published in 1973 as the first album of the newly started Virgin Records of Richard Branson. Way to start a new company with a vision.

Lyrics:

Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow on the wall

Treat me like a prisoner
Treat me like a fool
Treat me like a loser
Use me as a tool

Face me ’til I’m hungry
Push me in the cold
Treat me like a criminal
Just a shadow on the wall

Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow on the wall

Treat me like I’m evil
Freeze me ’til I’m cold
Beat me ’til I’m feeble
Grab me ’til I’m old

Fry me ’til I’m tired
Push me ’til I fall
Treat me like a criminal
Just a shadow on the wall

Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow on the wall

Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow on the wall

Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow on the wall

Shadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow on the wall

Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow
Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow

(Shadow on the wall)
Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow
(Shadow on the wall)
Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow

(Shadow on the wall)
Like a shadow
(Shadow on the wall)
Treat me like a shadow
(Like a shadow on the wall)

(Shadow on the wall)
Like a shadow
(Shadow on the wall)
Treat me like a shadow
(Like a shadow on the wall)

Shadow on the wall
Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow
Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow
Like a shadow on the wall

Like a shadow
Treat me like a shadow

Leave a Reply

