No Expectations – The Rolling Stones

Not a mainstream Rolling Stones song, but reminds me of the endless hours I’ve spent travelling by train.
I pretty much grown up in a train station, and I take pride in feeding once coal to one of the steam engines that were still in use back then. Those black steamy dragons that you could hear from a mile away puffing their way into the station. You would have been surprised how clean they were inside.

ultima poza cu locomotiva de abur facand manevre

And this is my father in 1977. I found this picture online by chance, but is really him.

1977_2

Waiting for a train:

315

Lyrics:

Take me to the station
And put me on a train,
I’ve got no expectations
To pass through here again

Once I was a rich man
Now I am so poor
But never in my sweet short life
Have I felt like this before

You’re heart is like a diamond
You throw you’re pearls at swine
And as I watch you leaving me
You pack my peace of mind

Our love was like the water
The splashes on a stone
Our love is like our music
It’s here, and then it’s gone

So take me to the airport
And put me on a plane,
I’ve got no expectations
To pass through here again

Mm mm mm….

Leave a Reply

