Nobody’s Fault But Mine – Led Zeppelin

This song always brings back memories of my high school years. The only source of music back then was The Radio Free Europe, that we would listen on short waves. We would climb up to the rooftop of the dormitory, in the middle of the night, to get a better reception. We would just sit there, under the stars and listen, and listen. No money in my pocket, but no worries either. I could always take a girl for a walk, under the pale moon light, free of charge. A fair trade, I guess.

This is my old radio-cassette player. As cassettes were in high demand, we would just reuse them until you could almost hear all the songs that were previously recorded. Nobody really cared. High fidelity is for wimps.

IMG_20130707_222318

I should mention that even though the song is about smoking pot, we had no idea what they were talking about, but the music is the universal language, isn’t it, and that we could feel.

Lyrics:

Nobody’s fault but mine
It’s nobody’s fault but mine
Try to save my soul tonight
Oh, it’s nobody’s fault but mine

Devil he told me to roll
Devil he told me to roll roll roll roll
How to roll the log tonight
Nobody’s fault but mine

Brother he showed me the gong
Brother he showed me the ding dong ding dong
How to kick that gong to light
Oh, it’s nobody’s fault but mine

Got a monkey on my back.
M-M-monkey on my back back back back
Gonna change my ways tonight
Nobody’s fault but mine

I will get down rollin’ tonight
N-N-N-Nobody’s fault

Jimmy Page, Robert Plant

Leave a Reply

