Astronaut’s YX-5793 Loneliness

It’s time to dig deep into the underground music scene and pull out a song that most of you have never heard, even though it created a cult following back in the days. I myself, was a groupie for this band, Holograf, and saw them live in more than one occasion. I even own the vinyl this song is extracted from.

You can listen to the entire album here: Holograf I

The song tells the story of an astronaut that roams the skies in his spaceship and seems to have lost the meaning of his mission. Reminds me in a way of the movie Silent Running.

Lyrics (Romanian):

Prives lumina stelelor din jur
Sint vesnic tinar, vesnic singur si mi-e greu
O stea apare, alta stea dispare, asta-i tot

Sute de ani trecut-au de cind am plecat
Si ridurile chipul nu mi l-au brazdat
Sint astronautul YX-579

Miinile mele uitat-au sa dea mingiierea iubirii
Spune-mi de ce ochii-mi sint palizi?
Spune-mi iubito de nu mai stiu parul tau cum arata?
Spune-mi de ce?

De ce sub pleoape-mi creste iarba cind ochii mi-i inchid
Si valurile marii in brate ma cuprind
Florile de cimp in parul tau sint prinse, ma trezesc

In suflet cai albastrii se-ndeparteaza lin
Iubito prea departe e cerul meu senin
Sint astronautul YX-579

Miinile mele uitat-au sa dea mingiierea iubirii
Spune-mi de ce ochii-mi sint palizi?
Spune-mi iubito de nu mai stiu parul tau cum arata?
Spune-mi de ce?

Priviti-ma sint doar un punct ciudat pe cer
Mi-e dor de oameni si tot pentru oameni pier
Sint astronautul YX-579

Lyrics (English):

I watch the light of stars around me
I am forever young, forever lonely and it’s hard
A star is born, another star is dying, that is all

There’s been hundreds of years since I left
And wrinkles have not touched my face
I am the astronaut YX-579

My hands have forgotten the touch of love
Tell me why my eyes are so pale
Tell me, my love, why I’ve forgotten the color of your hair
Tell me why

Why is it that grass is growing under my eyelids when I close my eyes
And the sea gives me a sweet embrace
Wild flowers hang in your hair, I wake up

Blue horses softly pass through my soul
My love, my sunny sky is too far away
I am the astronaut YX-579

My hands have forgotten the touch of love
Tell me why my eyes are so pale
Tell me, my love, why I’ve forgotten the color of your hair
Tell me why

Look at me, I am but a strange dot in the sky
I long for people, and for people I’ll die
I am the astronaut YX-579

Mihai Pocorschi

Leave a Reply

